Liberated devs don’t blog

Okay, this might turn into a weird post. But here it goes:

I was talking to Ole Morten the other day, and he mentioned he hadn’t blogged in a while.  As you can see from my blog – there’s not been much going on here either. What Ole Morten and me have in common – is a passion for new technology and entrepreneurship. If bureaucracy and politics are slowing us down – we are miserable – if we can spin up new products built on cutting edge technology – we are happy. Simple as that.

So it occurred to me that most of my blogging has been going on when I haven’t been entirely happy with the state of my current project. I’ve been looking to (and blogging about) Agile, Kanban and Systems Thinking to help build the right things faster. I wanted to change the status quo – I wanted to move faster, wanted to pick the right battles, wanted to make the right choices. But then – when I first got the chance to do all of this – I suddenly stopped blogging.

It’s not like I haven’t learned anything new. I’ve learned tons. When you ship software every day, I believe you learn so much more and so much faster than when you do the odd deploy twice a year.

I could write about continuous deployment or auto-scaling on Amazon. I could talk about setting up your infrastructure programmatically with Chef or launching a new product in days with Heroku. I could talk about Twitter Bootstrap, Ruby on Rails or Node.js. I could talk about anarchy, or just following your instinct. I could talk about how nice it is for every developer to have full access and full responsibility of the production environment. I could talk about how much better a software project is without and architect. I could talk about how much fun it is being an entrepreneur. I could talk about how you can actually find some fun Ruby contracting gigs out there that will allow you to bootstrap your startup.

But I don’t. At least not yet. Maybe I’m too busy, or maybe my subconscience haven’t fully processed all these new concepts yet, so that I’m not ready to write about them. But I think – most of all – I’m having so much fun, so much fun that I don’t feel the urge to blog about something.

A blog post can no longer be an outlet for my current frustrations – because there aren’t that many frustrations these days. A blog post won’t help me reach out to like-minded people so that we can pick the battles together – because there aren’t that many battles left. A blog post simply doesn’t make that much sense in my current context – or at least it fulfils a very different purpose than it used to.

So I might start blogging again – who knows – but it will at least be for different reasons than before.

Ps. I’d love your comments on this topic. What are you using your blog to achieve? Does your blogging reflect your current frustrations and aspirations? Instead of blogging about it – have you tried to find a way to actually live some of those dreams?

5 Responses to “Liberated devs don’t blog”

  1. Mark Nijhof Says:

    Interesting, I noticed the exact oposite by myself. When I am not happy I don’t blog, but when things are happening and changing then I write about it. Things that excite me get written down. Maybe when all is going great it slows down a bit for me, but I am sure that when things are not then I don’t blog either.

  2. The power of the written word | Octoberclub's Blog Says:

    […] https://erlingwl.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/liberated-devs-dont-blog/ […]

  3. octoberclub Says:

    People all have different reasons. I stopped blogging because I felt others did it so much better. But, in retrospect that was a mistake. All you need is passion for a topic to write about it well. Erling, thanks for the inspiration. http://octoberclub.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/the-power-of-the-written-word/

  4. Ketil Jensen Says:

    Hi Erling,

    Good post and interesting perspective. I agree that when you’re quite busy doing cool stuff you really like, then the urge to blog lessens. Ime this is also related to the fact that you have less time available. I reaaly would like to share some of the experiences from my last year starting up my own company, but have a hard time finding time doing so. When I started blogging back in 2008 I did so because I wanted to share some of the things we did that I thought was cool. I hope to find more time to blog in the future. I also hope you can find some time to share some of the cool stuff you’ve learned over the last year 🙂
    Keep on rockin!

  5. Lucian Adrian Says:

    Congratulations for reaching this level! It is good to know that it can be done, that all those battles fought each day were not in vain..
    At the same time, one should not forget that he was not alone in those struggled. Are all your suffering mates out of the woods ? Why not continue to blog about how beautiful work and things are now? Why not keep blogging about comparisons of old vs. new times? Why not compare and analyze your decisions and their effects? What were the most important decisions that helped you reach this “happy land”? Leraning is good and also teaching others is good! One of the basic things I know about agile is that its based on feed-back loops, and that retrospectives are also useful when good things happen, to determine what was done to get those good results, so that we can repeat those things…
    This is what I would write about if I were you ..

Leave a Reply

